What are the "enhanced security" features?

ShipStation offers the ability to pick from a variety of permissions and restrictions for users on your account, in order to match different users' roles at your business. This comes in handy if you need to limit a shipper's visibility to your company information within ShipStation. For example, you can set up a Dropship-style user with a restriction to only view orders and shipments that are assigned to them. You can also remove access to billing information, adding/removing shipping carriers, reporting, and more.

In order to customize user permissions and restrictions, follow the directions below.

Head to your Account Settings (the gear icon in the upper right).

Next, select Account and then User Management from the sidebar on the left.

Click Edit for the user you'd like to edit,



Then, click the Permissions sub-tab.



Pick and choose what's appropriate for the user. Please note that enabling the Administration option provides full access to all ShipStation permissions, except for API Access.

Now select the Restrictions sub-tab to further refine the user's access to information. There are restrictions based on order and shipment visibility as well as a location based restriction.



Changes to a user's permissions or restrictions take effect the next time they log into ShipStation. Those users may gain or lose access to some tabs or buttons, so please give them a heads up!

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request