Automatically Combine Shipments

Auto Combine automatically combines eligible shipments going to the same customer, helping you reduce manual work, shipping labels, and packaging. Once enabled, ShipStation combines qualifying shipments without requiring you to review Combine Order alerts or select a primary shipment.

Subscription Plan Requirement

This feature is not available on all subscription plans. To access this feature, you may need to upgrade your plan. To learn which features are included with your plan, visit Learn About ShipStation Subscription Plans.

To upgrade your plan, go to Settings > Account > Payment & Subscription.

How Auto Combine Works

When Auto Combine is enabled, ShipStation automatically:

  • Combines shipments going to the same recipient.

  • Uses the oldest shipment in the group as the primary shipment.

  • Stops generating Combine Order alerts.

  • Reapplies Automation Rules, Service Mappings, and Rate Shopper settings to the combined shipment.

Processing may take additional time depending on the size of the order import and the number of automation rules.

Auto Combine Eligibility

To be eligible for Auto Combine, shipments must meet the following requirements:

  • Be in Awaiting Shipment status.

  • Not have shipping labels created.

  • Have the same recipient name and shipping address.

Auto Combine also follows the same selling channel restrictions as manually combining shipments.

Enable Auto Combine

When you enable Auto Combine, ShipStation immediately combines eligible shipments listed in your existing Combine Order alerts and clears those alerts.

To enable Auto Combine:

  1. Go to Automations.

    Shows the Automations tab in the toolbar
  2. On the Auto-Combine card, select Set Up.

    Automations_Auto-Combine_Set-Up_BTTN.png
  3. Turn on Enable Auto-Combine.

    Automations_EnableAuto-Combine.png
  4. Select Done.

Disable Auto Combine

To stop automatically combining shipments:

  1. Go to Automations.

    Shows the Automations tab in the toolbar
  2. On the Auto-Combine card, select Manage.

    Automations_Auto-Combine_Manage_BTTN.png
  3. Turn off Enable Auto-Combine.

    Automations_DisableAuto-Combine.png
  4. Select Done.

Manage Auto-Combined Shipments

Identify Auto-Combined Shipments

Combined shipments display the standard combined shipment indicator in the Orders and Shipments grids. You can also identify shipments combined using Auto Combine in Order Details.

Split Auto-Combined Shipments

If you need to ship orders separately, you can split the combined shipment.

Auto Combine does not automatically recombine shipments that have been split.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I choose which shipment is the primary shipment?

No. When Auto Combine is enabled, ShipStation automatically uses the oldest shipment as the primary shipment. To select a primary shipment yourself, disable Auto Combine and combine the shipments manually.

What happens to my existing Combine Order alerts when I enable Auto Combine?

ShipStation automatically processes eligible shipments in your existing Combine Order alerts and clears those alerts. Processing time may vary depending on the number of alerts.

Can I split shipments that were automatically combined?

Yes. You can split auto-combined shipments if you need to ship the orders separately. Auto Combine will not automatically recombine shipments that have been split.

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact our technical support team.
Contact us
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful